*COMING SOON* The Deanery
*COMING SOON*
Enquire now to be added to waitlist: events@canterburycathedrallodge.org
The Drawing Room – Capacity: 40 seated/100 buffet
The Library – Capacity: 40 seated/100 buffet
The Deanery History
The current Deanery buildings date from the late 15th century onwards. In medieval times, the residence of the Prior of the Cathedral was on the site. Major rebuilding took place in the late 17th century, and the exterior and interior of the building saw further work in subsequent centuries. The garden was enlarged in the 19th century.
The current Library was laid out in the late 17th century, and its fine fireplace dates from this time. It has been called the Hooper Library, after Dean George Hooper, who oversaw the work. Hooper installed large sash windows in much of the building following the stay of Queen Mary and her husband William in 1694. The Drawing Room was formerly known as the Great Chamber, and has for centuries been the central entertainment space of the house.
The Deanery was damaged during World War II, and much restoration work was required.
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge is owned and operated by Canterbury Cathedral (Charity no. 1206913). All income from the Lodge supports the care, conservation, worship, music, learning and visitor welcome of Canterbury Cathedral.